75th Anniversary Team

Some truly great hockey players have come to the "Windy City" and donned the scarlet-and-black game sweater since the Blackhawks joined the NHL in 1926. For that reason, the roster of the Blackhawks 75th Anniversary Team is filled with legendary players. Players belonging to the exclusive seven-member club whose numbers will never be worn again by a Blackhawk are Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, Glenn Hall, Tony Esposito, and Denis Savard, Pierre Pilote and Keith Magnuson. Players who, although their playing careers are not yet finished, have shown enough brilliance in a Blackhawks uniform to join the greats of the past on this team are: Tony Amonte, Chris Chelios, Jeremy Roenick, and Ed Belfour.

As the Hawks prepared to battle the Detroit Red Wings on opening night of the 2000-01 season, many members of the 75th Anniversary team, selected by the fans, were present for the pre-game ceremonies honoring them.

Tony Esposito -- Tony Esposito won the Calder Trophy as the NHL's rookie of the year in 1969-70 and never looked back. "Tony-O" led the Hawks to the playoffs in all 15 of his seasons, with a 418-302-148 record and 2.92 goals-against average, garnering three Vezina Trophies (representative of the NHL's best goaltender) along the way.
Glenn Hall -- Hall, a two-time Vezina winner, led the Blackhawks to the Stanley Cup championship in 1961. During his 618 games with the Hawks he set an NHL record by appearing in 502 consecutive games. He went 275-229-106 with a 2.62 GAA in his 10 seasons with the Blackhawks.
Ed Belfour -- During his eight-year tenure with the Blackhawks, Ed Belfour was 201-138-56 with a 2.65 GAA. He won the Calder Trophy and two Vezinas and led the Blackhawks to the 1992 Stanley Cup Finals.
Chris Chelios -- Chris Chelios was a fan favorite during the nine seasons he played for his hometown Blackhawks. The hard-nosed defenseman won two Norris Trophies and added 92 goals and 395 assists while in Chicago.
Doug Wilson -- Doug Wilson was a great two-way defenseman in his 14 seasons with the Hawks. He held the blue line and ran the power play. He set team defenseman records with 225 goals and 554 assists. In 1981-82 he scored 39 goals and 85 points, also a team record, on his way to winning the Norris Trophy.
Pierre Pilote -- In his 13 seasons with the Blackhawks, Pierre Pilote played in 821 games, scored 77 goals, and tallied 400 assists. He was the go-to guy on defense in the early '60s, when he won three consecutive Norris Trophies in 1963, '64, and '65.
Keith Magnuson -- Though Keith Magnuson tallied only 14 goals and 152 assists in his 11 years in Chicago, he more than made up for it with his grit and determination. During the 589 games with the Hawks, Magnuson spent 1,442 minutes (over 24 hours) in the penalty box.
Pat Stapleton -- Pat Stapleton played stingy defense and added an offensive flare during his eight years with the Hawks. He had 41 goals and 286 assists in 545 games.
Bill White -- Bill White spent seven seasons on the Chicago blue line as a stay-at-home defenseman. He played in 415 games, scoring 30 goals and assisting on 149.
Stan Mikita -- Stan Mikita's numbers speak for themselves. He is the Blackhawks all-time leader in games played (1,394), assists (926), and points (1,467), and is second in goals (541). He led the league in scoring four times, was league MVP twice, and took home the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship twice.
Jeremy Roenick -- Another fan favorite during his eight years in Chicago was Jeremy Roenick. Known for his tenacity and energy, Roenick played in 524 games and put up 267 goals and 329 assists before moving on to Phoenix.
Denis Savard -- Denis Savard is the third all-time points leader (1,096) in Blackhawks history. He scored 377 goals and 719 assists in his brilliant Blackhawks career of over 12 seasons. Savard was a fan favorite and was known for his signature move, the "spin-o-rama."
Bobby Hull -- Considered by many to be the greatest player in Chicago Blackhawks history, the "Golden Jet" led the NHL in scoring seven times and in points three times. He was the first Blackhawk to score 50 goals in a season and the first player in NHL history to score over 50 goals. He scored 50 goals four times in his career and won the Hart Trophy (NHL MVP) twice.
Al Secord -- Al Secord could hurt you in two different ways: with his fists and with his scoring. Secord racked up 213 goals, 159 assists, and 1,426 penalty minutes in 466 games with the Hawks. Secord was also the second Blackhawk to reach the 50-goal plateau when he scored 54 during the 1982-83 season.
Dennis Hull -- Dennis Hull might not have been quite as good as his brother, but the "Silver Jet" could hold his own to say the least. In his 904 games with the Hawks, he scored 298 goals, added 342 assists, and ranks sixth in all-time team scoring.
Tony Amonte -- Amonte's speed and fiery play helped him to score 87 goals from 1999 to 2001, more than any other player in the NHL.
Steve Larmer -- Steve Larmer didn't have just one outstanding skill -- he was a complete player who knew how to play the game. The 1983 Calder Trophy winner scored 406 goals and notched 517 assists in his 891 games with the Hawks.
Harold "Mush" March -- In his 17 seasons with the Hawks, this 5''5", 155-pound right wing helped his team to their first-ever Stanley Cup during the 1933-34 season. Nicknamed "Mush" after a famously small Canadian cartoon character, March's two-way play and Cup-winning overtime goal have made him a Blackhawks legend.
Billy Reay -- Billy Reay was at the Hawks helm for 14 seasons (1963-1977), leading the team to a record 516 wins.
Mike Keenan -- Although Mike Keenan only coached in Chicago for four seasons, he is best known for coaching the team to the 1992 Stanley Cup Final.
Bob Pulford -- Bob Pulford stood behind the Blackhawks bench 478 times as the head coach. Pulford ranks second to Reay in both games coached as well as wins.